Latest Info: Happy New Year and welcome to 2019! We are planning several off-season events, so stay tuned. Dive into those rule books and refine your football rules knowledge for next season!


The DFOA and CFOA present three awards/honors:

  • Ben Gregory Award
  • Terry Schiessler / Stu Bader Award
  • Hall of Fame

Ben Gregory Award 

The Ben Gregory award is given to a retired coach  who was a great facilitator of sportsmanship toward opponents as well as officials.
The coach shall be retired for two years. It was established in 1998.
Past recipients of the Ben Gregory award are:

  • 2018--John Pounder (Hinkley)
  • 2017--Steve Finesilver (George Washington)
  • 2016--Ed Gurule (Denver West)
  • 2015--Dave Hall (Aurora Central)
  • 2014--Jamie Woodruff (Douglas County, Ponderosa)
  • 2013--Bob Beaty (Evergreen, Chatfield)
  • 2012--Mark Swalley (Denver Christian)
  • 2011--JR McMillan (Brighton) and Don Albers (Thornton)
  • 2010--Jim Bratten (Pomona, Arvada, Standley Lake)
  • 2009--Ed Stevens (Wheat Ridge, Chapparal)
  • 2008--Tim McDougal (Holy Family, Jefferson, Arvada West) 
  • 2007--Gary Klatt (Pomona)
  • 2004--Tom Hinton (Ranum) & Bob Hinton (Hinkley)
  • 2003--Bruce Abeyta, (Kennedy)
  • 2002--Sam Pagano (Fairview)
  • 2001--Dominic Capra (Northglenn, Horizon, Legacy)
  • 2000--Dick Yates (Denver South, Kennedy)
  • 1999--Herman Motz (Thomas Jefferson)
  • 1998--Ben Gregory family (Montbello)

Terry Schiessler / Stu Bader Award  

This award was established in 1987 after Terry passed away.  Terry spent 30 years as an administrator, teacher, coach and sports official.  Stu Bader was a long-time official in Denver that was not only an outstanding official but also spent countless hours mentoring newer officials.  After Stu's sudden passing, it was decided his name should be added to this award to honor his legacy.

This award is given annually to a fellow DFOA. member.  The official shall have officiated at least 10 years .  It was first given in 1987.  There were no recipients in 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011 or 2012. 

Past recipients of this award are: 

  • 2018--Karl Kramer
  • 2017--Curt Brouwer
  • 2016--Rick Rouse
  • 2015--Sal Marini
  • 2014--Tim Fitzgerald
  • 2013--Dan Weikle
  • 2009--Tony Giardina
  • 2006--Mike St.Onge
  • 2005--Steve Heuer
  • 2004--Dave Hitchens
  • 2003--Dave Bowman
  • 2002--Steve Hall
  • 2001--Larry Bonicelli
  • 2000--Sam Molinaro
  • 1999--Ed Lujan
  • 1998--Ron Scholes
  • 1997--Dennis Markusson
  • 1996--Kent Payne
  • 1995--Dr. Bob Pyle
  • 1994--Bob Peck
  • 1993--Bill Cox
  • 1992--Jim Schaeffer
  • 1991--Bud Schoepflin
  • 1990--Bob Meschko
  • 1989--Ron Capra
  • 1988--Steve Usechek & Chuck Schiell
  • 1987--Bob Roy

CFOA Hall of Fame 

Since 2002 some Denver area officials and contributors (C) inducted are:

Jim Dorsey (C), Ed McClure, Leslie Moore (C), Donnie Wilson, John Bradley, Bill Cox, Ron Scholes, Jim Schaefer, Charlie Flowers, Bud Schoepflin, John Desiato, and Bob Peck.  

In 2007, Neil Devlin (C), Ed Lujan, Jack Lynch, and Steve Usechek were inducted from Denver.  

No inductees in 2008.  

In 2009, Dave Beacom, Tom Fincken, Mike St.Onge and Ted Swan were inducted from Denver.  

No inductees in 2010, 2011 or 2012.  

In 2013, Rich Czernicki and Dwayne Klipple were inducted from Denver.


© Denver Football Officials Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software